Home » Benefits » Rubbed the wrong way

Rubbed the wrong way

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

No humor
I have to admit that I was very dismayed by today’s commentary by comedian Jim Gaffigan on CBS Sunday Morning. I understand that the segment was meant to be humorous, but to call massage therapists murderers is highly offensive. Yes, I read the comments on the CBS website and I know that some people think we are getting “bent out of shape” about something that is supposed to be funny, but as a licensed massage therapist, I am saddened by this commentary that disparages an entire profession.

Yes, our clients do make themselves vulnerable. But as professionals, massage therapists go to great lengths to properly drape clients and make them less anxious. And we don’t all listen to the “Avatar” soundtrack. I have one client who absolutely loves country music. It may not be my preference, but I’ve taken the time to get to know my clients, and this particular client gets country music each session!

Massages aren’t “decadent” and most aren’t expensive. I’d also like to point out that people have been practicing massage for centuries. Historical records teach us that the first written mention of massage occurred about 2000 BC. The Chinese were some of the first proponents of this healing art. There are also ancient written references to massage by the Egyptians, Persians, and Japanese. Even good ol’ Hippocrates, the father of medicine, described the healthy benefits of massage.

So, Jim Gaffigan, I invite you to widen your horizons and get a professional massage!

To find out if massage is for you, please feel free to contact me by calling 812-264-5482 or emailing caringtouchmassage@yahoo.com. I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

